General information and application form


Studios and studio-apartments

Québec Studio in London
(London, England)


The building housing the Québec studio in London
The building housing the Québec studio in London


The Conseil des arts et des lettres (CALQ) wishes to participate in the initiative launched by the Québec government to broaden the presence of Québec artists in internationally renowned cultural milieus. In 2008-2009, it established the Québec Studio in London, thereby expanding the network of residencies offered abroad to Québec artists and writers.

London is a very stimulating city for artists. It has remarkable artistic infrastructure and it is very easy to make contacts there. The city has witnessed numerous artistic revolutions, in particular in music, literature and design. London reflects this history and Londoners display a spirit of openness to difference and a taste for novelty and the avant-garde. Moreover, professional artists in London are genuinely curious about and interested in the arts in Québec.

The London residence enables Québec artists and writers to engage in a significant experience in their professional development. The living environment and contacts with other artists create conditions favourable to the development of creativity and of artistic approaches, indeed to the enhancement of the artists' international profiles.


Artistic fields 
Architectural research, arts and crafts, cinema and video, circus arts, dance, digital arts, literature and storytelling, multidisciplinary arts, music, popular song, theatre, visual arts


Target applicants

Artists with over 10 years of artistic practice.

Writers eligible for Mid-Career or Development grants.


Location
In London, the studio-apartment is located in the Bow Water district in East London, less than 300 m from the 2012 Olympic stadium. The apartment is in a former Victorian-era match factory, a historic site of 19th-century trade unionism. The artistic community is present in this neighbourhood, which is readily accessible by mass transit. The furnished, equipped apartment offers residents a living and work space suited to a stimulating period of self-renewal.


Length of stay and amount of the grant
Six months, from January to June or from July to December 2017.

The amount of the grant is $22 500.


Registration deadline
April 1, 2016



Additional information
This studio has been made available through the collaboration of Acme Studios - International Residencies Programme, the Québec Government Office in London, the ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie and the ministère de la Culture et des Communications.

Contact information for Québec government delegations, offices and field offices abroad is available on the Website of the ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (www.mrif.gouv.qc.ca).



Québec artists who have resided in the Québec Studio in London

Christian Quesnel (2008 visual arts), Michel de Broin (2009 visual arts), Alexander MacSween (2009 music), François Carrier (2011 music), Jeffrey Moore (2011 literature), Hélène Lord (2012 visual arts), Lynda Gaudreau (2012 dance), Brent Hildebrand (2013 visual arts), Mathieu Beauséjour (2013 visual arts), Daniel Canty (2014 literature), Sophie Jodoin (2014 visual arts), Denis Chouinard (2015 cin
ema), Jared Isaiah Ceccarelli (2015 music)


Living room and workspace
Living room and workspace


Living room and kitchenette
Living room and kitchenette


Photos : Acme Studios



 
 

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2016

english



Renseignements généraux et formulaire


Studios et ateliers-résidences

Studio du Québec à Londres
(Londres, Angleterre)



Immeuble abritant le studio du Québec à Londres
Immeuble abritant le studio du Québec à Londres


Désireux de participer à l'effort amorcé par le gouvernement du Québec pour intensifier la présence des créateurs québécois dans des milieux culturels reconnus mondialement, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ) a créé en 2008-2009 le studio du Québec à Londres, agrandissant le réseau des résidences offertes aux artistes et aux écrivains québécois à l'étranger.

Londres est une ville très stimulante pour les créateurs, une ville aux infrastructures artistiques remarquables et un lieu où il existe une facilité de contacts. Elle a été le berceau de nombreuses révolutions artistiques, notamment en musique, en littérature et en design. La ville en porte les traces et la population en conserve l'esprit, soit une ouverture à la différence et un appétit pour la nouveauté et l'avant-garde. De plus, les milieux professionnels londoniens démontrent une véritable curiosité et un intérêt certain pour ce qui se passe au Québec.

La résidence à Londres permet aux artistes et écrivains québécois de vivre un moment important dans leur cheminement professionnel. Le nouveau cadre de vie, la fréquentation d'autres artistes créent des conditions favorables au développement de la créativité et à l'évolution des démarches artistiques, voire au rayonnement international d'une carrière.


Domaines concernés
Arts du cirque, arts multidisciplinaires, arts numériques, arts visuels, chanson, cinéma et vidéo, danse, littérature et conte, métiers d'art, musique, recherche architecturale et théâtre.


Candidats visés 

Artistes qui comptent plus de dix ans de pratique artistique.

Écrivains admissibles aux bourses de Mi-carrière ou de Développement.


Le lieu
À Londres, l'atelier-résidence est situé dans le quartier Bow Water, dans l'Est de Londres, à moins de 300 mètres du stade des Jeux olympiques de 2012. l'appartement se trouve dans une ancienne fabrique d'allumettes datant de l'ère victorienne, lieu historique de la syndicalisation ouvrière du 19e siècle. Lieu déjà investi par la communauté artistique, ce quartier est très accessible par les transports en commun. L'appartement meublé et équipé offre aux résidents un espace de vie et de travail propice à un séjour de ressourcement stimulant.


Le séjour et la bourse
La durée du séjour est de six mois : de janvier à juin ou de juillet à décembre 2017. 

Le montant de la bourse est de 22 500 $.


Date limite d'inscription
Le 1er avril 2016


Renseignements supplémentaires
Ce studio est rendu disponible grâce à la collaboration de Acme Studios - International Residencies Programme, de la délégation générale du Québec à Londres, du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie et du ministère de la Culture et des Communications.


Les coordonnées des représentations du Québec à l'étranger (délégations, bureaux et antennes) sont sur le site du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (www.mrif.gouv.qc.ca).



Artistes québécois ayant séjourné au Studio du Québec à Londres
Christian Quesnel (2008 arts visuels), Michel de Broin (2009 arts visuels), Alexander MacSween (2009 musique), François Carrier (2011 musique), Jeffrey Moore (2011 littérature), Hélène Lord (2012 arts visuels), Lynda Gaudreau (2012 danse), Brent Hildebrand (2013 arts visuels), Mathieu Beauséjour (2013 arts visuels), Daniel Canty (2014 littérature), Sophie Jodoin (2014 arts visuels), Denis Chouinard (2015 cinéma), Jared Isaiah Ceccarelli (2015 musique)



Salon et espace de travail
Salon et espace de travail


Salon et cuisinette
Salon et cuisinette


Photos : Acme Studios



 
 

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2016